You are here

Excited-State Quantum Phase Transitions

Registration closed 07/09/2015.


Ines Campo
+39 0461 314721
Monday, 21 September, 2015 (All day) to Friday, 25 September, 2015 (All day)
ECT* Conference room

Excited-State Quantum Phase Transition (ESQPT) is a novel concept unifying various types of singularities present in discrete energy spectra of quantum systems with a limited number of effective degrees of freedom. ESQPTs extend the ground-state quantum phase transitions in diverse many-body systems (like atomic nuclei, molecules), lattice system (e.g., graphene), and quantum-optical systems (matter-field coupling). ESQPTs are rooted in some classical phase-space singularities and their key signatures are identified in nonanalytic density and flow properties of quantum spectra, and in some anomalous dynamical and thermodynamical features of the system. These signatures have a potential impact on complex processes involving many-body systems as well as on various quantum information techniques.

Registration period: 
20 Jul 2015 to 06 Sep 2015


Tobias Brandes TU Berlin
Pavel Cejnar University of Prague


Last nameFirst nameInstitutionCountry of Institution
Aparicio AlcaldeMartin JesusTechnische Universität BerlinGermany
Bastarrachea-MagnaniMiguel AngelUniversidad Nacional Autónoma de MéxicoMexico
Bastidas ValenciaVictor ManuelTechnische Universität BerlinGermany
BrandesTobiasTU BerlinGermany
BrodyDorjeBrunel University LondonUK
BruennerTobiasAlbert-Ludwigs University FreiburgGermany
BuchleitnerAndreasInstitute of Physics, Albert-Ludwigs-Universität FreiburgGermany
CarrLincolnColorado School of MinesUSA
CejnarPavelInst.of Particle and Nuclear Phys., Charles UniversityCzech Republic
ChávezJorgeUniversidad Nacional Autónoma de MéxicoMéxico
CsehJozsefMTA ATOMKIHungary
DukelskyJorgeInstituto de Estructura de la Materia. CSIC.SPAIN
DvořákMartinInstitute of Particle and Nuclear Physics, Faculty of Mathematics and Physics, Charles University in PragueCzech Republic
EngelhardtGeorgTechnische Universität BerlinGermany
García RamosJosé EnriqueUniversity of HuelvaSpain
GessnerManuelUniversity of FreiburgGermany
GraefeEva-MariaImperial College LondonUnited Kingdom
HeissDieterUniversity StellenboschSouth Africa
HirschJorge GUniversidad Nacional Autónoma de MéxicoMexico
IachelloFrancescoYale UniversityUSA
JerzyDUDEKUniverity of Strasbourg and IPHC/CNRS StrasbourgFrance
KastnerMichaelNational Institute for Theoretical PhysicsSouth Africa
KlocMichalCharles UniversityCzech Republic
KolovskyAndreyKirensky Institute of Physics of Russian Academy of SciencesRussian
KonotopVladimirfaculty of Sciences, University of LisbonPortugal
KopylovKopylovTU BerlinGermany
MacekMichalYale University, Sloane Physics LaboratoryUSA
NovotnýTomášDepartment of Condensed Matter Physics, Faculty of Mathematics and Physics, Charles University in PragueCzech Republic
OberthalerMarkusUniversity of HeidelbergGermany
Perez-BernalFranciscoUniversidad de HuelvaSpain
PueblaRicardoUniversity of UlmGermany
Pérez-FernándezPedroUniversidad de SevillaSpain
RelanoArmandoUniversidad Complutense de MadridSpain
RichterAchimInstitute of Nuclear Physics/TU DarmstadtGermany
SantosLeaYeshiva UniversityUSA
StranskyPavelInstitute of Particle and Nuclear Physics, Faculty of Mathematics and Physics, Charles University in PragueCzech Republic
WaalkensHolgerJohann Bernoulli Institute, University of GroningenThe Netherlands