You are here

Nucleon and nuclear structure through di-lepton production

Registration closed 10/10/2016.


Ines Campo
+39 0461 314721
Monday, 24 October, 2016 - 09:00 to Friday, 28 October, 2016 - 13:00
ECT* Conference room

The formalism of transverse momentum distributions and generalized parton distributions provide a framework for the three-dimensional imaging of the nucleon and nucleus experimentally using deeply virtual semi-exclusive and exclusive processes. The experimental program using some set of such processes mostly with space like virtual probes (deeply virtual Compton scattering, deeply virtual meson production) already began in many centers (DESY, JLab, FNAL, CERN...). With advances of new experimental facilities, study of reactions with final state time-like photons such as timelike Compton scattering or double deeply virtual Compton scattering become a reality. These leptoproduction reactions together with Drell-Yann process studied on hadron machines will open an avenue for exploring quark-gluon structure of hadrons on a new level. The timelike Compton processes will be accompanied by vector meson production, including heavy quarkonium as J/$\Psi$. Heavy quarkonium production probes the local color (gluon) fields in the nucleon, and at close-to-threshold kinematics will probe gluonic form factors of the nucleon. This workshop aims at bringing together theorists and experimentalists to discuss the ongoing efforts for the nucleon and nuclear structure studies using di-lepton production, including a coherent framework for integration and interpretation of the data obtained with timelike and spacelike probes.

Registration period: 
22 Aug 2016 to 09 Oct 2016


Alexandre Camsonne Jefferson Lab
Lech Szymanowski Poland National Center for Nuclear Research
Eric Voutier CNRS/IN2P3/IPNO IPN Orsay


Last nameFirst nameInstitutionCountry of Institution
AnikinIgorJoint Institute for Nuclear ResearchRussian Federation
BaltzellNathanJefferson LabUSA
BOERMarieLos Alamos National LaboratoryUSA
BoussarieRenaudINP KrakowPoland
BraunVladimirUniversity of RegensburgGermany
BrodskyStanleySLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, Stanford UniversityUnited States
CamsonneAlexandreJefferson LaboratoryUSA
ChangWen-ChenInstitute of Physics, Academia SinicaTaiwan
ColaneriLucaInstitute de Physique Nucléaire d'OrsayFrance
DobbsSeanNorthwestern UniversityUSA
EfremovAnatolyJoint Institute for Nuclear Research (JINR), DubnaRussian Federation
GnanvoKondoUniversity of VirginiaUSA
GryniukOleksiiJohannes Gutenberg University of MainzGermany
GuidalMichelIPN OrsayFrance
GuzeyVadimPetersburg Nuclear Physics Institute Russia
HydeCharlesOld Dominion UniversityUSA
IlievaYordankaUniversity of South CarolinaUSA
KrollPeterUniversity of WuppertalGermany
KumerickiKresimirUniversity of ZagrebCroatia
liutisimonettauniversity of virginiaUnited States
MezianiZein-EddineTemple UniversityUnites States of America
MezianiZein-EddineTemple UniversityUSA
PolyakovMaximRuhr-University BochumGermany
SokhanDariaUniversity of GlasgowUK
StepanyanStepanJefferson LabUSA
StepanyanStepanJefferson LabUnited States
SzymanowskiLechNational Centre for Nuclear ResearchPoland
TadevosyanVardanA.Alikhanyan National Science Foundation (YerPhI Foundation)Armenia
VoutierEricIPNO-IN2P3-CNRS / UPSFrance
WagnerJakubNational Centre for Nuclear ResearchPoland
WeissChristianJefferson LabUSA